Switching gears

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve switched gears.  Instead of doing Pavel’s 100 swings and 5/5 TGU program, I’m back to following Lauren Brook’s BeSlam program.  I’m making modifications though.  I just simply don’t have the strength or energy to do it as outlined but I do like the workouts.  I could push myself but why?  Why risk injuring myself again?

So, my modifications are to do the strength workouts – 3 per week.  Do as many sets as feels comfortable.  If my back or hips start to complain – I back off.  And, I’m not doing the heaviest weights I can possibly do – I’m doing a REASONABLE weight.

Oh sure there are people out there that will think I’m wimping out.  And honestly?   There is a part of me that says I should be pushing it harder.  Do MORE.  Push HARDER. The voices in my head are not always nice or smart.  Bottom line?  I’ll do what I do.  Period.  I really don’t care what anyone else thinks OR what the fucked up voices in my head say.

I’m also still doing yoga (went to a great class on the beach at 8am this morning).  Daily.  I don’t do strong yoga.  If I’m in a class and I can tell it’s pushing me too hard (especially with my hips or wrists) – I back off.  I do my own thing.  I guess you could say that I dance to my own tune.  A 55-year-old-woman’s tune.

Although there are a couple local classes that I enjoy, I actually am enjoying doing my own yoga at home more than anything.  Between doing my own thing, Ekhart yoga and a couple good DVDs that I have – I have a nice, regular, gentle yoga practice.  Restorative and yin yoga are my favorites right now.

I spend time daily (usually at least an hour) doing a couple different types of meditation (love seated mindfulness and yoga nidra) and have been incorporating more and more breath-based work into my day.  I really think doing the breath work – especially at bedtime – has helped with my menopause related insomnia.

Food?  Still not where I want it to be.  Still working on it.

This entry was posted in random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Switching gears

  1. Diana says:

    Kris-
    Sounds like you’re getting yourself on track! Food thing is still an issue for me too-but I’m proud to be 6 + weeks free of all soda! For me, that’s a huge one.
    BTW…..I changed up the format of my blog and it has a new address. I appreciate you having a link on your blog to mine, so if you’re interested here’s my updated address:
    http://dianatrainingforlife.blogspot.com/

    • KrisR says:

      Hi Diana – I added your new address but kept the old one too. Good job on the soda free – that’s an amazing accomplishment. I broke a huge diet cola habit a few years back so I know how it goes.

  2. Glad you’re questioning those “should” voices. I love KBs + yoga! Great recipe, if you ask me. xo

  3. Martin says:

    It’s good to hear that you’re modifying the program to suit you – in the past I’ve pushed forwards and injured myself – I don’t want to do that in the future!

    I’m going to take a look at the BeSlam program and see what it’s about.

    All the best

    Martin

Leave a Reply

