Molly Galbraith’s 28 day challenge

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

I’m going to do Molly Galbraith’s 28 day challenge.  It’s called ‘Love your Body’.

Yesterday I answered her 10 questions to track my starting point.  I had a score of 60.

Today’s mantra and action step (quoted from Molly’s blog):

My body is my home. It’s the ONLY place I have to live.  I will treat it with the care and respect it deserves.”

Repeat this (to yourself or out loud) 10 times right now,  10 times during your action step, and 10 times before bed.

Action Step: Do one really nice thing to take care of yourself today.  Maybe it’s a bubble bath, maybe it’s deep conditioner in your hair, or maybe it’s a few minutes in the steam room at the gym, whatever.  Just do it, and while you are doing it, repeat your mantra to yourself 10 times.  When you’re done with that, then just simply enjoy what you’re doing.

No work, no kids, no emails.  Try to experience what you’re doing with all of your senses, and clear your mind.

Here’s MY deal though…..all the pictures of these professionals (on Molly’s blog) showing their FLAWS and how they are embracing their FLAWS and loving themselves in spite of their FLAWS…..well, that’s all well and good but seriously….I can’t relate.  I can potentially LEARN from what they are writing – but I look at their 20 and 30 year old bodies and I think to myself “talk to me when you’re 55”.  “Talk to me when you shave your legs in the shower and your bat wings wiggle back and forth so much that you wonder what kind of animal has suddenly attached itself to you.”  “Talk to me about the deflated, flabby tummy from once weighing 300 pounds and now NOT weighing 300 pounds.”

Yes – I totally know that I am responsible for the condition of my body.  And trust me – I’m so grateful to be where I am today rather than where I was 5+ years ago.  I totally know that I will never have firm triceps.  I totally know that my years of abusing my body – my continued abuse of my body –  has lead to the condition I am currently in.  However, I would just love to hear more about middle-aged women and what they do and how they continue to strive to be the healthiest possible.

Are there middle-aged fitness professionals out there in this demographic?  Every young female fitness professional I’ve talked to  – well, let me just say that my experience is that they are fairly clueless on what I, as a 55 year old, experience.  Through no fault of their own – and I’m seriously not dissin’ them – they just don’t KNOW.  And men fitness professionals?  Don’t even get me started.  Doctors?  Clueless as far as fitness goes.

So where does that leave me when I want to get back into shape?  When I’ve been on the couch for a month with a back/hip injury but am now ready to build back up to my former fitness level?  Who the fuck do I go to for advice?  For help?  To help me determine what is enough and what is too much or not enough?

YES!  I AM ANGRY!  I AM FRUSTRATED!  And I just need to vent.

(I feel a little bit better now.  <SMILE>)

Today was the 2nd day I went for a 30 minute walk.  I was winded just walking up the hill.  This totally sucks.  Less than 6 months ago I was doing 60 minutes of bush walking, up and down hills in the mud and muck each morning.  I wasn’t just DOING it, I was BARRELLING through it.  And I was swinging kettle bells and following a strenuous kettle bell program and I was loving it and I felt better than I had ever felt.  Today I was winded walking up a frickin’ gradual hill.  I am NOT happy about it.  However, I know I am the only one that can change it.  And I also know that I can’t change it overnight.

Baby steps.  And belief.

This entry was posted in head games, random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Molly Galbraith’s 28 day challenge

  1. I love this post!!! I’m doing the challenge, too. I scored a 72… hmm, maybe this is what will get me blogging again! It’s been over 2 months and I just haven’t gotten around to it. Granted, I [packed,] moved [and have been trying to get unpacked organized] in that time, but still! xo

    • KrisR says:

      Good luck with the challenge and the blogging. I find I wax and wane with blogging. I keep doing it (especially my quilting one) but sometimes it’s a real struggle. I keep trying to remember that I basically blog for myself – or at least primarily for myself – as a record of where I’ve been – where I want to go and the processes of getting there.

  2. Diana says:

    Just for shits and giggles, I answered the questions and got a score of 32. I don’t want to burst any bubbles or deflate anyone’s hopes that this “challenge” will work for them, but for me….I could care less about these women and their flaws. I gave up a long time ago looking outside, on blogs, on FB, or wherever to hopefully find the “answer” to why I don’t have the perfect body. I never will for one thing and that’s where I start-just knowing and accepting that. Working in health care for the last 24yrs proves to me on a daily basis that I am, indeed, the LUCKY one! I surround myself with other “50+” year old people to keep me grounded. I hear all my coworkers who are in their 20-30’s complain daily. I think that’s just part of life. I complained way more then too and now I’m just more mature I guess!
    I don’t mean to sound like I’m putting you down for doing this challenge, I just don’t feel it’s for me. I have found peace and happiness through a different venue.
    Sorry for so wordy!

    • KrisR says:

      I get you Diana. And, I’m not looking for the perfect body nor do I particularly like reading articles/blogs/forums on people that are searching for that. I think I’m just looking for love and acceptance of myself. And, if in the process I can shut off some of the negative chatter that goes on in my head – BONUS.

      Last year I was shopping with a friend who was complaining about her arms. I looked at her and said “at least you have arms. There are people without arms or people who’s arms aren’t operational that would love to have your arms.” It really put things in perspective (for me probably more than her). I’m sure you get messages daily in your job that are similar.

      No apology necessary. I think discussion is good and I appreciate it! I’m on day 3 of this challenge and I’m neutral so far on it. I’m hopeful, as with most things, that I’ll gain something from it but I’m not looking for or expecting huge shifts. Some small little pearl of wisdom or reminder would satisfy me.

      • Diana says:

        Great comeback about the arms! So very, very true!!
        The thing to remember is this~ we must take the “ME” out of the equation! Once we put emphasis on loving and helping others, our problems tend to get worked out too!
        If you still read my blog, you know I’m living a christian life and my focus is loving others and giving my life to God. And throwing kettlebells around too of course!
        Not everyone agrees with spirituality, and that’s fine, but we can all give love!

Leave a Reply

