REAL food?

new kettlebells - 1

Ok – I know this is lazy – but I’m going to point to a blog post that I read today.  If you haven’t seen it – it is worth reading and thought provoking.  It’s about what REAL food is and perhaps isn’t.

Side conversation……In a round-about-way, it talks to me about judging others.  I know….that’s a big thing with me.  Which makes me wonder – is it a big deal with me because I’m the judgmental one?  I’d like to believe it’s because I don’t like to be judged – but psychobabble suggests otherwise.  All I know is that I try to be non-judgmental but it doesn’t always work.  I’m a work in progress.

Back to the blog post though…..Fat Nutritionist – I really like her stuff.  She has a ton of good information on her site.

As far as my workouts go – I’m halfway through week 4 of Lauren Brook’s BeSlam program and really enjoying it.  Next week is a ramp up and I’m not sure I’m up for it as I am incredibly sore after my workouts (2 strength and 2 conditioning per week).  I don’t know if I’m pushing too hard for a 54 year old or if I’m simply a whimp and out of shape.  I guess time will tell.

I’ve also been listening to a book called How to have your cake and your skinny jeans too by Josie Spinardi.  It’s a good listen.  Full of suggestions and ideas on NOT dieting but also not falling into the free-for-all abyss.  She’s a young, energetic talker.

And the photo?  My new bells.  The family has increased to include 2x8kg, 2x12kg, 16kg & a 20 kg.  Aren’t they pretty?  🙂  I’m practicing my snatches and did some double swings with the 8kg’s last week.  Whoo wheeee…..look at me go.  🙂

This entry was posted in Kettlebell training, Reviews, weekly summary. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to REAL food?

  1. I love Josie’s book! I bet it’s fun to listen to the audio. Will check out that blog, thanks for the link!

    I still have to work back up to the two Lauren Brooks DVDs I bought, but you’re tempting me to pick up BeSlam as well!

  2. Diana says:

    Woo-Hoo!!!! Welcome to the new additions to the family! You’ll love having 2 of each of those sizes-now so many more things you can do!!!
    I may have to get some comp bells….I have a pair of 20kg’s and a pair of 24kg’s and those handles are massive. I love to swing them, but when it comes to snatching them, it really rips the hands trying to keep my grip from failing!
    Have fun with the new additions!

  3. watch out kettlebell world 🙂

Leave a Reply

