BeSlam Week 1 recap

Last Import - 01

Week 1 of Lauren Brooks BeSlam program is in the bag.  Was a good week.  Also did 2 hatha yoga classes (90 minutes) and 3 (60 minute) restorative yoga classes.  Walked for about 25 minutes in the morning 4 times this week.

Ordered 3 more kettlebells.  A 12kg and an 8kg so that I am ready for doubles when they come up in the program and a 20kg.  The 2 small ones are classic style, the 20kg is competition style.

My food is back on track also.

My hip is still a bit achey but not painful.  I’ve started being conscious of crossing my legs as the chiropractor said this could contribute to my pelvis getting tilted forward.  Also, I’ve started ‘leading’ with my left leg rather than my right.  I know….that sounds weird but I find that if I lead with my left leg, there is less weight put onto my right hip and therefore I have less discomfort.  I’m also starting to experiment with taking a panadol at bedtime in hopes that I stop waking up at 2am as I think it’s hip discomfort that may be waking me up.  The experimentation continues.

This entry was posted in health issues, Kettlebell training, weekly summary, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to BeSlam Week 1 recap

  1. I’ve been trying to stop crossing my legs when sitting in a chair, too. Good luck!

    Sounds like you’re enjoying BeSLAM. I haven’t picked it up yet, but I love Lauren’s book and bought a couple of her DVDs, too. I’m not quite ready for KBs, just 7 weeks post-op from a robotic hysterectomy… but I’ll get there!

    • KrisR says:

      I really do like her stuff. I’m actually checking out another of your recommended books today – the audio version so I can listen to it while walking or doing quilting. 🙂

      Sounds like your recovery is going well? It can be a long haul but so worth it in the end.

      • Ooh, very cool… which book?

        I’m very pleased with my recovery overall, thanks! Other than lower-than-normal energy levels, I feel nearly normal. I still have some very minor pain/tightness in my abdominal incisions on occasion, but I’m trying to gently stretch and keep everything from locking up. Long haul, for sure, and I think longer than I expected… or other people realize! I get lots of incredulous reactions (not from everyone, thankfully) when I mention that I still get fatigued easily! Hey, not only did I have major surgery and anesthesia, but I went from training 15-30 minutes a day, 4-6 x a week, to being very sedentary for several weeks! That in itself will wipe out the energy banks — resting makes you tired, yo! 😉 Thank you and have an awesome week!

Leave a Reply

