Restorative Yoga

restorative_header2

I’ve been doing a lot of restorative yoga the last 2 weeks since surgery. I LOVE restorative yoga.

I was first introduced to it by Judith Hanson Lasater‘s book Relax and Renew, years ago.  Bought the book.  Read the book.  Didn’t implement anything.  I mean really?  It was basically LAZY, lay around yoga in my mind.  I needed yoga that would DO something – that would stretch me, mold me, improve me, help me lose weight.

How wrong could a person be?

supported-childs-pose

Then about 18 months ago I downloaded a lecture of Judith talking about restorative yoga and savasana (corpse pose) from YogaUOnline.  What she said made sense.  We need time to just BE.  Without doing anything.  In this crazy, mixed up, stressed world that we live in – we don’t take enough time to chill.  At that point, I started doing savasana daily.  Usually for 30 minutes.  (Can you say nirvana?)  It was sometimes hard to make time for it – but I succeeded more than failed and developed a new habit.

Last year, I was fortunate enough to go to a 4 day workshop on restorative yoga with Judith in Sydney.  I was the only NON-yoga teacher in the class of 60+ but I loved it (here is a link to teachers who trained with Judith and are certified on restorative yoga).

I learned so much at this workshop and each week since, I have spent at least an hour doing restorative yoga on my own.  There is nothing better than getting myself into a supported position, with all the props, and just simply RELEASING and relaxing.  The tension of the day just melts away.

I also have been lucky in that one of our local yoga teachers (Kerri Wild) took the workshop and she offers 2 restorative yoga classes each week.  My week is not really complete if I don’t get to the Monday restorative class.

Finally, I met this gal, Carole Fogarty (from the Goldcoast) that runs restorative yoga retreats in Bali and Italy.  I’m not sure if I’ll ever have the opportunity to do a retreat with Carole but in the meantime, I follow her blog and her Facebook page where she never fails to offer great suggestions and just simple slow-life-down advice.

654_548455381861535_1732442110_n

Bottom line? I HIGHLY recommend taking time for some restorative yoga each week.  There is a ton of information online available if you don’t have the opportunity to attend a class.  However – nothing beats going to a restorative class and having a teacher help you get into just the right position so that relaxation can occur.  Even though I KNOW how to do the poses, and even though I HAVE the props at home and can get myself arranged just right – it is still such a great treat to turn the reins over to a teacher.

If you have the opportunity to get to a restorative yoga class – GRAB IT!  I sincerely doubt you’ll regret the experience and you may just become addicted.

This entry was posted in yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Restorative Yoga

  1. Diana Behrend says:

    I need to look into this! I did yoga for awhile but nothing now for a year. I need the flexibility and it’s great for the mind and soul!

  2. Kim A. says:

    I enjoy Yin yoga, as well as restorative. I have been trying to do at least one Yin/restorative practice a week. It feels so good.

Leave a Reply

