I need a fitness friend….

69283_471772022878386_1013276246_n

I just feel so all alone in trying to become a more fit and healthy version of myself.  I have no one to talk to about this.

It’s hard to find someone in the middle ground area – someone who isn’t obsessed but is CLOSE to being obsessed.  HA!

Family?  Nope.  Not interested.  I’ve tried – trust me.

Friends?  Nope.  Most like to bitch and complain and whine and moan about their bodies but none of them want to put in the work required to improve their fitness.  (oh, that sounded harsh, didn’t it?)

What’s a middle-aged woman to do?

I guess it’s simply to find support online, eh?

This entry was posted in head games, random thoughts, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I need a fitness friend….

  1. Diana says:

    Found your blog from your comment on Tracy’s blog…..nice post. I used to struggle some with this topic, however, I’ve let everything go and listen to my heart and the Holy Spirit. It’s truly great to have support on our journeys, but I’m trying to not rely on it. There’s a difference! I have great support from my family, friends, fellow bloggers, etc….but if I don’t have “what I need” already inside me, none of what my “supporters” say will have any impact. I to am a 50+year old and it’s hard to lose weight at this age….but there’s a way and it can be done, even if it takes years to find it out. I, originally lost 120lbs and have, since starting menopause and making bad choices/decisions, let 50 of it creep back onto my frame and it sucks! But, dwelling on it only makes me tired and drained. I’m better than that. I have all my faith and trust put into God-this is not meant to be a “religious” service by any means, it’s just who I am. I’m a spiritual, caring individual who lives by and loves His Word. I look forward to more of your posts and hope you don’t mind, but added your link to my sidebar of bloggers. Peace to you!

    • KrisR says:

      Thanks for your kind words, Diana. I agree…..it does need to come from within – it has to be that burning desire to change.

      Congrats on your loss – even with the regain – look how far you’ve come! I’ve kept off about 100 pounds but wouldn’t sneeze at removing another 30-40. Slow and steady. I just don’t want to be obsessed any longer.

  2. GG says:

    I agree. I loved your Media Diet post. Coming to terms, accepting and challenging when appropriate are all words that currently come to mind when I think about me in the here and now. I’m 49 and after losing 30 lbs 5 years ago have kept the better part of 25 off. For the most part I do some type of exercise daily and try my best to be mindful of my food intake. However, I refuse to give up popcorn! I don’t need others to validate my bad food choices but welcome tips and ideas for an almost 50 yr old.

    • KrisR says:

      oh, I wouldn’t give up popcorn either! One of my favorite food groups! I’ve only been off it recently because of gallbladder problems. After my surgery……I can’t wait to dive into a bowl of the crunchy white stuff. 🙂

      Great job on maintaining your loss. I sometimes regret the fact that I didn’t wake up to fitness earlier (I’m 54) but then I change my thoughts and become grateful that at least I am doing something now – and really, today is all we have.

Leave a Reply

