The Banana Miracle?

157748-floods-may-cause-temporary-banana-shortage

I use this blog as a journal of sorts – more for my own record than anything else.  Which leads me to make this notation:

I have suffered off and on from insomnia for several years now.  It’s typically of menopausal women and since I get plenty of down time (an hour or so of meditation per day) I typically do not get worn down and exhausted – even though I typically only sleep about 6 hours a night.

If I’m tired, I take a short nap.  If I can’t sleep – I get up and do something.  I’m lucky in that I don’t need to worry about being UP for a J-O-B (swear word) or children or anything.  My life, my schedule is pretty much my own.  (I know…..I said I’m lucky!  The LUCKIEST!)

Having said that – I do miss sleeping through the night.  I get irritated sometimes when I wake up at 2:30 and am wide awake – ‘cuz I like to sleep – and our bed is one of my favorite places on earth.

A girlfriend of mine (massage therapist with the magic touch) had read something about eating a banana (or a teaspoonful of honey) about 2 hours before bedtime to help with sleeping through the night.  I decided it wouldn’t hurt to give it a try.

I guess I’m not ready to say it’s a full and total success yet – maybe it’s just a fluke or maybe it’s placebo effect – but the last 3 nights I’ve eaten a banana before bed (which is incredibly hard for me to do because I have it in my head that you shouldn’t eat anything within 2 hours of bedtime not to mention HORROR OF HORRORS, the carb contact in a banana!) but I’ve slept through the night – at least until 4:30/5AM.

hmmmmm……perhaps I’ll call it the ‘Banana Miracle’!  Time will tell.

This entry was posted in food choices, random thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

