Foam Roller ideas

Commitment

It’s no secret that I love my foam roller and am a huge fan of SMR (Self Myofacial Release).  I’ve had my foam roller for years and use it daily in one way or another.  I also use 2 tennis balls tied up in a sports sock – perfect for my feet and for those spots under/near my scapula.  I can’t wait to get my hands on a rumble roller and The Stick (both on my birthday wish list).  Our lounge room contains a very eclectic array of products.

Here’s a link I found today by Dean Somerset that has several good youtube videos for foam rolling.  Worth watching.  He also talks about what to do on the days when you are lacking in motivation.

As Craig Harper, the man who calls it like he sees it, doesn’t hold back (much) and is the author of the book Stop F*cking Around says….”…motivation (on its own) rarely leads to any kind of lasting positive transformation. Commitment, on the other hand, is a non-negotiable mindset. It’s absolute. It’s a force. Unwavering. Constant. Powerful. Unlike motivation, it’s not a day to day proposition; it’s your default setting. It’s not a ‘sometimes’ emotion but rather, an ‘all-the-time’ habit. Committed people make things happen, even in the absence of motivation.”

Thanks Craig – you always nail it.

Today I was lacking in motivation but I remembered my commitment. The result?  I made a vegetable quiche for breakfast and while it was baking – I did my kettlebell workout.  I didn’t really want to.  I was lacking in motivation.

Yesterday was a rough day socially and not only did I go to bed with an attitude – I woke up this morning with the same ‘tude.  A good hard workout followed by healthy food seems to have worked it out of my system.  With some foam rolling/SMR in front of rugby this afternoon – all should again be well in my world.

This entry was posted in daily update, foam rolling, food choices, head games, SMR, youtube. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

