Plankathon

Core Competency_4

One of my local yoga teachers does several fund raisers each year for Relay For Life – an organization that supports cancer patients.  She does this in memory of her sister (and my neighbor) who died several years ago of melanoma-related complications.

This year, she has organized a ‘plankathon’.  For a $10 entry fee, we will compete to see who can hold their plank the longest.  I don’t have details yet but I sent her an email telling her I was IN!  What a fun thing to train for.  At least I think it sounds fun.  So far I haven’t convinced many people to join me but I’m not giving up.

I don’t have the details of the event yet but I’m hopeful there will be categories and that I’m old enough to be in the ‘old lady’ category.  🙂

Regardless, I started training yesterday.  I did three 60 second forearm planks.  I was pretty pleased with myself because I don’t think I’ve done many past 30 seconds previously.

Physical living has a blog post about a 5 minute plank.  And gives a bit of a training schedule.  Mens Fitness also has some information.  This article on Rehab Trainer News gives some guidelines on how long to hold a plank and how they used it in Rugby (the game played in heaven) to determine if fitness levels were up to scratch.  And finally – Dragon Door has a blog post on doing the perfect plank also.

The event is mid-March.

This entry was posted in Plank. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Plankathon

  1. sonavan says:

    Sounds interresting. It´s a pitty that I live so far away. Maybe I will train with you at home:-)

  2. sonavan says:

    I just tried to do the plank and it is pretty hard. I only survived for 10 seconds 🙂

  3. KrisR says:

    Yes! Do train with me!

Leave a Reply

