PAIN!

pain-relief-ladder

Today I was ‘supposed’ to do workout 1 and Tabata 1.  I didn’t.  I went for a long walk instead.  And I did an hour of restorative yoga based upon the 4 day rest and renew yoga course I took last year from Judith Hanson Lasater.  I needed it.  Looking back at last week – I had 4 workouts.  Workouts where I pushed each session.

I wasn’t taking the ‘easier, softer way’; I wasn’t just bagging on my workout because I was lazy.  I was tired and I respected myself enough to listen and honor what I needed.  Today, I needed to rest & rejuvenate.  So I did.

Then – all hell broke loose again.  Another bout of intense pain.  This time I could isolate it to the muscular area directly below my ribs – both front and back.  I’d say it was a 7 or 8 on a 10 point scale.  Two panadol and 2 hours later, I was relatively pain free.  I took another 2 panadol for good measure four hours later and within 6 hours – I was totally, completely pain free again.  WTF?

Both days of pain came after workouts which included the following:

Cleans – 3 x30 second rotations (about 10-11 per 30 seconds) both sides w/12kg

Kneeling Presses – 3x 10 reps w/12kg

High Planks, RKC tilt forward style – 30 seconds

Pushups on the windowsill – 3 x 30 seconds (about 10 per 30 seconds), really concentrating on keeping my elbows IN rather than flaring.

The cleans and kneeling presses I increased from 8kg to 12kg kettle bells.

So, I’m not sure what to think.  Is it something in my workout that is causing this excruciating pain?  It is certainly not welcome.  🙂  And, it’s not DOMS although it’s also not a stabbing pain like I’ve broken a bone or something.  It’s just intense and constant until it suddenly 100% disappears.

Here’s my plan…..to rule out that it’s not something other than my workouts – I’m going to do a de-load week.  Walking and yoga.  If the pain comes back WITHOUT doing any of my kettlebell workouts – I’ll know I need to get myself to a doctor to figure out what’s going on.  If the pain DOESN’T come back while not doing these workouts – I’ll restart next week.

The other option is to do some swings this week but I honestly don’t think a week of just walking and yoga is a bad idea.  I’ve been pushing pretty hard for about 4 months now so a little extra rest and recovery time won’t be bad.

I’ll miss the Lauren Brook’s workouts though.  I really enjoy them.

This entry was posted in daily update, health issues. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to PAIN!

  1. sonavan says:

    I am sorry to hear that you are in pain. I hope that you will get well soon.

  2. How long have you had the pain? and on what side of the body is it?

    Try including a deload week every 4th week – so do 3 weeks training – increasing intensity each week. On the 4th week have a deload (walk and yoga or go back to what you trained in week 1) on the 5th week start training back at week 2 workout and start the process again.

    Each week this will see you progressively overload your training – meaning you will get stronger but with the week deload you are also giving your body ample rest time which also helps with building strength, maintaining good form and motivation 🙂

    Hope that makes sense 🙂

Leave a Reply

