Choices

This morning I woke up with renewed motivation to keep a more careful eye on what I am eating.  I’ve been rather slack the last couple days and if I seriously want to be smaller by my doctor’s appointment in January – I need to step up to the plate and be more accountable with what I’m eating.  If I’m not going to get serious about it AND STAY SERIOUS about it – well…..then why am I wasting my time?

My first choice for breakfast:  1/2 cup Greek Yogurt, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 1 ounce raw walnuts

Not bad.  Nothing wrong with this option.  All healthy foods in reasonable quantities.

Then I logged onto Fitday and made a few changes.

 

My second choice for breakfast: 1 scoop protein powder, 1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 1 kiwi fruit, 1/2 cup milk

Both yield me a balanced breakfast.  Both would satisfy me.  Both are within 50 calories.  The difference is in the fat and the protein.  Four times more fat and less than half the protein in option 1.  I’m not a ‘fat avoider’ or a ‘fat phobic’ but it is certainly something to be aware of.  And as far as protein – I think most women struggle to get enough protein into their diet so that is certainly something to look at when making food choices.

Breakfast one:  302 calories; 21 fat; 22 carb; 11 protein

Breakfast two: 252 calories; 5.9 fat; 27 carbs; 24 protein

Today, breakfast 2 looks like a better choice.

This entry was posted in food choices. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

