Clean up the food

So, if I want to reduce my poundage – I have to make some changes.

I’m already eating quite clean.  Except for wine.  I need to cut the wine.  It’s a social thing. It’s nice to have a glass of wine before dinner.  And a 2nd one with dinner.  And, even if wine ONLY has about 150 calories per glass, I know it interferes with fat burning.  Scientifically, I’ve read that when consuming alcohol – your body burns that first – before burning existing fat on your body.

For now – I’m cutting back.  First step is to cut back to one glass per night and have at least 2 nights per week without.  I did that a couple months ago and it was fine – and I dropped some kilos.  Time to do it again.  I’ll re-evaluate after a month or so.

The other thing I’ve been thinking about is decreasing the amount of fruit I eat.  On average, I probably have 2-3 pieces of fruit a day.  Typically an apple at some point in the day and a 1/2 banana plus fresh or frozen berries in my protein smoothie for breakfast.  The banana seems to help with my foot cramping – but I’m considering switching to a potassium supplement and see if that works.

My third thing to adjust…..couscous……I’ve become a huge fan of it and could eat it by the cupful.  I’m not going to though.  It will be in measured 1/2 cup servings until I either stop eating it or learn to moderate it.

In and of themselves – none of these are huge issues.  I don’t abuse wine (or any alcohol).  A couples pieces of fruit per day is no big deal – especially when there are so many other poor choices I could make.  And couscous…..well, it’s better than butter laden potatoes or chips.  However – it’s these small adjustments or changes that will hopefully get me to where I want to be – in a more healthy/fit condition.

I’ve abused my body for too many years.  Plus, I’m a post-menopausal woman which brings on its own issues.  My body does not respond quickly to change.  I can only hope that I can sustain these changes and eventually have less poundage to cart around.

Fingers crossed and action taken.  And now….it’s time to see if the rain has stopped and if I can take my morning walk – followed by my week 4 kettlebell workout and a 90 minute yoga class later this morning.

This entry was posted in food choices. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Clean up the food

  1. Replace couscous with quinoa – it’s a protein grain and tastes simular to couscous – you can do it with it all the things you can do with couscous. 1 cup couscous = 3 slices of bread…

Leave a Reply

